2020 & 2021 is different!

The fourth edition of our big band composition competition JAZZ COMP GRAZ has been quite tough so far. Due to the COVID-19 pandemic, the course of the competition had to be changed significantly.
We have received 72 compositions by composers from a total of 26 nations for this year's competition.

The "Reading Session" of our KUG Jazz Orchestra planned for April 2020 could unfortunately not take place. A shift to the summer months could not be realized either. Therefore, the entire selection process for finding the finalists had to be adapted accordingly to find the compositions for the finale concert in November 2020.

A preliminary jury, consisting of Ed Partyka, Johannes Berauer and Reinhard Summerer, was appointed to set up a preliminary round to find the finalists. 35 compositions were subsequently submitted to our international jury (John Hollenbeck, Jim McNeely, Jörg Achim Keller).

We are happy to announce our finalists:

"The Woodpecker" Charlie Bates (GB)
• "
She Weeps Over Rahoon" Marco Battigelli (IT)
"Pointing To The Sky" Gabriele Ceccarelli (IT)
"The Tide Turns" Henri Lyysaari (FI)
"Haiku" Filippo Minisola (IT)
"Time To Roll The Credits" Markus Neuwirth (AT)
"The Properties of Rubber" Joan Pérez-Villegas (ES)
"The Path" Alessio Sacco (IT)
"Into Eternity" Suzan Veneman (NL)
"Spring Snow" Nobuo Watanabe (JP)